The Turin Horse - Unsavory Impurities - LP COLORED

Availability : In stock

ltd to 500
  • Description

    Italian noise-rockers embrace prog and psych on new album "Unsavory Impurities"
    Italy's The Turin Horse announce the March 24th release of new album Unsavory Impurities. The album will be released on the legendary Reptilian Records in the US and Italian label Invisible Order in Europe.

    Named for the historic city in the north of Italy where they formed, The Turin Horse consists of guitarist/vocalist Enrico Tauraso, formerly of Dead Elephant, and drummer Alain Lapaglia, ex-MoRkObOt. With one untitled EP under their belts, Tauraso and Lapaglia come tearing out of the gate on Unsavory Impurities. Eyes wild and teeth gnashing, the two operate in a zone of pure abandon, bashing out caustic noise rock then drop-kicking it into other dimensions.
    First single "Blissed Out" serves as a perfect introduction. Ear-scraping guitar tones carry a somber melody, as frenetic drumming and a whirr of psychedelia pull the song forward. Injecting freedom and chaos into a genre known for its austerity, The Turin Horse play with prog-level exuberance and lace their raw, blown-out songs with left-field sounds, including saxophone (courtesy of baritone sax player Alessandro Cartolari of Anatrofobia and Extrema Ratio) and an arsenal of samples: "Synths, classical music, field recordings, pocket fans, data-bending files, circuit-bent machines, vegetables, anything we deem useful for our purposes," states Tauraso.
    The band's liberated approach to abrasive music brings to mind the maniacal sludge-punk of Karp, by way of the unchained experimentalism of Today Is The Day. Tauraso states: "If we had to make a list of influences I think it would be endless... Personally I would include Today Is The Day. I've been a fan for many years and have always enjoyed their uncompromising vision of music. I've always found it cathartic."
    While honoring those who have inspired them, The Turin Horse really march to their own beat and no one else's. As Tauraso puts it, "The thing that has conditioned us the most is the need to try to express ourselves freely. We already have to mediate with society for a good part of our daily lives and we like to think that music is our hour of fresh air."
    The band's singular sound is thanks in part to Tauraso's homemade rig: "We couldn't find a bass player and I chose to see this lack as a creative opportunity to customize my guitar sound by building a large part of my gear."
    Unsavory Impurities was recorded by Massimiliano Moccia and Enrico Tauraso at Nomad Studio in Turin and mixed by Tauraso at his home studio. It was mastered by Arik Victor at Creep Studio in Philadelphia.
    The cover art was created by Mow Skwoz.

    “Taking cues from both radical noise rock bands a la Scratch Acid and Season to Risk along with the metallic experimentalism of Today Is the Day, The Turin Horse shoot the whole thing through with noise, found sounds, and any other wild idea that strikes them to create a beautifully unpredictable assault.”
    –CVLT Nation

    "Raw noise rock with a psychedelic streak."
    –New Noise

    "A thrill ride where doom and d-beat collide with warped, twisted punk."
    –Fecking Bahamas

    "The Turin Horse blend angular noise rock with proggy psych atmospherics."

    "Unique Italian noise rock group The Turin Horse are finally back with a progressive/psychedelia influenced full-length for 2023... They’re pushing noise rock/post-hardcore into their own zone."
    –Grizzly Butts

    1) The Maximum Effort for the Minimum Result
    2) Sixty Millions Blues
    3) Regret Song
    4) Blissed Out
    5) Necessary Pain
    6) Birds Sing a Death Song
    7) The Light That Failed
    8) Where the Seeds Can't Take Root
    9) Hybris
    10) Tear off the Stitches

    Enrico Tauraso - vocals, guitar, synth
    Alain Lapaglia - drums, samples
    Alessandro Cartolari - baritone sax

  • Additional Information

    Band The Turin Horse
    Title Unsavory Impurities
    Label Reptilian
    Style Hardcore
    Detailed style Punk Noise Rock
    Bar code 0832915015318
    Catalog # REP153
    Release Date May 27, 2024
Subscribe to our newsletter
and get a $5 discount*!
Be the first to receive offers from our store.
*Min coupon order value: $20

Please save your coupon now, you will not receive it by email!